writingquill - Forside
J. D. Salinger's Life's Work

J. D. Salinger is considered one of modern day writers who was followed by many other writers. His work proved to be prolific and is mostly composed of short stories. All his books, on the other hand, are widely read around the world.

 There are 4 of them and out of the 4 books published, he had three novels in all. One of them is the most popular and critically praised (and widely challenged for controversy) is "The Catcher in the Rye" published in 1951. This book became an inspiration for other acclaimed stories today, such as "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" and "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time." The other two novels, "Franny and Zooey" published ten years later and "Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction" in 1963, are composed of two novellas each. Each story was written and published on different a different year, as follows:

Franny and Zooey (1961)
1 "Franny" (1955)
2 "Zooey" (1957)

Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction (1963)
1 "Raise High the Roof-Beam, Carpenters" (1955)
2 "Seymour: An Introduction" (1959)

One of the 4 books, is a collection of 9 short stories, thus the title "Nine Stories," published in 1953. The following are the titles of the short stories in this book.
1 "A Perfect Day for Bananafish" (1948)
2 "The Laughing Man" (1949)
3 "Just Before the War with the Eskimos" (1948)
4 "For Esmé -- with Love and Squalor" (1950)
5 "Down at the Dinghy" (1949)
6 "Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut" (1948)
7 "Teddy" (1953)
8 "De Daumier-Smith's Blue Period" (1952)
9 "Pretty Mouth and Green My Eyes" (1951)
Visit our site for more.
Panel title

© 2019 writingquill

Antal besøg: 86

Lav en gratis hjemmeside på Freewebsite-service.com